Use of quantitative X-ray diffraction analysis in cement quality control

With a view to reducing CO2 emissions the cement industry is producing more and more cements with several main constituents. For production and quality inspection it is essential to be able to determine the quality and standard conformity of these cements. If used in an expert manner, quantitative X-ray diffraction analysis is capable of determining the clinker phases and the cement composition. Automation of the evaluation process is however required for cement production. At the same time, though, it must be ensured that there is no significant loss of quality in the analyses. Questions remain about reproducibility, the influence of production fluctuations and the quantification of cements with several partly amorphous main constituents. Finally it would be desirable to have a sufficiently accurate automatable method to supplement or even replace reference tests as part of factory production control and third-party inspection.

The research project initially involved a sequence of steps to formulate robust, automated preparation methods and evaluation files and determine their reproducibility. This meant having to use a preparation module corresponding to those of the plant laboratories. The use of a variety of factory and laboratory cements of a known composition made it possible to define the precision of the X-ray analytical method and thus also the limits of its applicability. The effects of unavoidable production fluctuations associated with industrial scale processes on automated evaluation were also described for laboratory cements with varying raw materials and constituents with differing fineness of grinding. Concluding plant tests were performed to verify the applicability of the analysis system to practical use.

Supported by

The IGF project 17397 N of VDZ gGmbH is supported by the AiF within the framework of Industrial Collective Research (IGF) of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy on the basis of a decision of the German Bundestag.


Dr. Jörg Rickert

Dr. Jörg Rickert

+49-211-45 78-283

+49-211-45 78-44427


02/2014 - 10/2014


Results (German)

Anwendung der quantitativen Röntgenbeugungsanalyse in der Qualitätskontrolle von Zementen

Zur Verringerung von CO2-Emissionen forciert die Zementindustrie die Produktion von Zementen mit mehreren Hauptbestandteilen. In der Produktions- und der Güteüberwachung ist es notwendig, die Qualität und die Normkonformität dieser Zemente bestimmen zu können. Die quantitative Röntgenbeugungsanalyse ist bei fachkundiger Anwendung in der Lage, den Klinker-Phasenbestand bzw. die Zementzusammensetzung zu ermitteln. Für die Zementproduktion ist allerdings eine Automatisierung der Auswertung notwendig, ohne dass wesentliche Qualitätseinbußen der Analysen auftreten. Offene Fragen bestehen in der Reproduzierbarkeit, der Auswirkung von Produktionsschwankungen oder der Quantifizierung von Zementen mit mehreren teilamorphen Hauptbestandteilen. Letztlich wäre es wünschenswert, durch ein hinreichend präzises röntgenographisches Verfahren Referenzprüfungen in der Eigen- und Fremdüberwachung zu ergänzen oder sogar zu ersetzen.

Im Forschungsvorhaben wurden in aufeinanderfolgenden Arbeitsschritten zunächst robuste, automatisierte Präparationsmethoden und Auswertedateien formuliert und deren Reproduzierbarkeit ermittelt. Hierzu musste ein Aufbereitungsmodul verwendet werden, das denen der Werkslabore entspricht. Durch die Anwendung auf eine Vielzahl von Werks- und Laborzementen mit bekannter Zusammensetzung ließen sich die Präzision des röntgenographischen Verfahrens sowie ggf. die Grenzfälle seiner Anwendbarkeit definieren. Weiterhin wurden an Laborzementen mit variierenden Ausgangsstoffen und Mahlfeinheiten seiner Komponenten die Auswirkungen von großtechnisch unvermeidlichen Produktionsschwankungen auf eine automatisierte Auswertung beschrieben. In abschließenden Werksversuchen wurde die Übertragbarkeit des Analysesystems auf die praktische Anwendung an Mahlübergängen geprüft, bei denen die zeitnahe Quantifizierung der Zementzusammensetzung eine besonders wichtige Rolle spielt.

Förderer

Das IGF-Vorhaben 17397 N der Forschungsvereinigung 
VDZ gGmbH wurde über die AiF im Rahmen des Programms zur Förderung der Industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages gefördert.

Kontakt

Dr. Jörg Rickert

Dr. Jörg Rickert

Tel.: (0211) 45 78-283

Fax: (0211) 45 78-44427

Projektzeitraum

02/2014 - 10/2014

Veröffentlichungen

Forschungsergebnisse