Transferability of results from laboratory test procedures to determine the frost de-icer resistance of pre-fabricated paving products in practical conditions

Transferability of results from laboratory test methods to determine the freeze-thaw resistance of prefabricated road sector products on practice conditions

Since February 2005, the frost de-icer resistance for concrete paving must be proven with the modified slab test. Despite the discrepancy observed between the test results and the practical performance of stones laid, many customers prefer the CDF procedure.

This aim of this research project was to create a secured assessment background for testing the frost de-icer resistance of earth-moist produced concrete paving stones. The proposals could possibly be developed for testing in realistic conditions. In addition, environmental conditions and joint condition changes of laid concrete paving stones were recorded (monitoring) and implemented in an accelerated laboratory simulation with concrete paving stone surfaces (frost chamber). The correlation between weathering behaviour of the concrete paving stones in the laboratory testing procedure and weathering behaviour of the concrete paving stone surfaces in the frost chamber was investigated. Furthermore, the influence of paste content in the core concrete on the bond strength between face and core concrete was examined to research the causes for detachment occurrences in more depth.

Investigation results on the facing concrete of concrete paving stones from large-scale production in the freezing chamber and freezing laboratory tests (slab test and CDF test)Findings IInvestigation results on the facing or core concrete of concrete paving stones from the pilot plant in the freezing chamber and freezing laboratory tests (slab test and CDF test)Findings II

In the completed research project, based on previous results in freezing chamber tests on concrete paving stone surfaces under practical test conditions, it was shown that the transferability of the results from laboratory test methods to determine the freeze-thaw resistance of two-layer concrete paving stones improves the behaviour when installed, in addition to the facing concrete also the core concrete with the slab test (according to DIN EN 1338) is examined.

In the current test practice, the two laboratory test methods Slab-Test and CDF-Test for double-layer concrete paving stones only assess the freeze-thaw resistance of the pre-set. An assessment of the core concrete is not carried out with these two test methods usually.

Insufficient freeze-thaw resistance of the core concrete is therefore not recognized in conventional testing practice. A core concrete with a low freeze-thaw resistance can fail in use and lead, inter alia, to the occurrence of chipping of the facing concrete, as it is not longer able to sufficiently absorb the mechanical stress resulting from its use.

Application of the results:

  • Contracting authorities for building projects with concrete paving stones may require, in addition to the facing concrete test, the testing of the freeze-thaw resistance of the core concrete.
  • Concrete paving stone manufacturers should also use a strong concrete mix with a appropriate cement content in the core concrete to ensure that its freeze-thaw resistance remains sufficiently high.
  • The regulation DIN EN 1338 could additionally be determinded the test of the freeze-thaw resistance of the core concrete.

Supported by

The IGF project 17996 N of VDZ gemeinnuetzige GmbH - VDZ gGmbH, Tannenstrasse 2, 40476 Duesseldorf was supported by the AiF within the framework of Industrial Collective Research (IGF) of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy on the basis of a decision of the German Bundestag.

Übertragbarkeit von Ergebnissen aus Laborprüfverfahren zur Bestimmung des Frost-Tausalz-Widerstandes von vorgefertigten Straßenbauerzeugnissen auf Praxisverhältnisse

Übertragbarkeit von Ergebnissen aus Laborprüfverfahren zur Bestimmung des Frost-Tausalz-Widerstandes von vorgefertigten Straßenbauerzeugnissen auf Praxisverhältnisse

Seit Februar 2005 muss der Frost-Tausalz-Widerstand für Betonpflastersteine mit dem modifiziertem Slab-Test nachgewiesen werden. Trotz beobachteter Diskrepanz zwischen den Prüfergebnissen und dem Praxisverhalten verlegter Steine wird von manchen Auftraggebern das CDF-Verfahren favorisiert.

Im Rahmen dieses Forschungsvorhaben sollte ein abgesicherter Bewertungshintergrund für die Prüfung des Frost-Tausalz-Widerstandes von erdfeucht hergestellten Betonpflastersteinen geschaffen werden. Ggf. waren Vorschläge für die realitätsnahe Prüfung zu erarbeiten. Dazu wurden Umgebungsbedingungen sowie Gefügezustandsveränderungen verlegter Betonpflastersteine erfasst (Monitoring) und in eine beschleunigte Laborsimulation mit Betonpflastersteinflächen umgesetzt (Frostkammer). Die Korrelation zwischen dem Abwitterungsverhalten der Betonpflastersteine in den Laborprüfverfahren und dem Abwitterungsverhalten von Betonpflastersteinflächen in der Frostkammer wurde untersucht. Weiterhin wurde der Einfluss des Leimgehalts im Kernbeton auf die Verbundfestigkeit zwischen Vorsatz- und Kernbeton untersucht, um die Ursachen für die Ablöseerscheinungen näher zu erforschen.

Untersuchungsergebnisse am Vorsatzbeton von Betonpflastersteinen aus großtechnischer Produktion in den Frostkammer- und Frostlaborprüfungen (Slab-Test und CDF-Verfahren)Untersuchungsergebnisse IUntersuchungsergebnisse am Vorsatz- bzw. Kernbeton von Betonpflastersteinen aus der Technikumsanlage in den Frostkammer- und Frostlaborprüfungen (Slab-Test und CDF-Verfahren)Untersuchungsergebnisse II

Im abgeschlossenen Forschungsvorhaben konnte auf Basis bisheriger Ergebnisse in Frostkammeruntersuchungen an Betonpflastersteinflächen unter praxisnahen Prüfbedingungen gezeigt werden, dass sich die Übertragbarkeit der Ergebnisse aus Laborprüfverfahren zur Bestimmung des Frost-Tausalz-Widerstandes von zweischichtigen Betonpflastersteinen zum Verhalten im verlegten Zustand verbessert, wenn zusätzlich zum Vorsatzbeton auch der Kernbeton mit dem Slab-Test (nach DIN EN 1338) untersucht wird.

In der derzeitigen Prüfpraxis wird mit den beiden Laborprüfverfahren Slab-Test und CDF-Test bei zweischichtigen Betonpflastersteinen nur der Frost-Tausalz-Widerstand des Vorsatzes beurteilt. Eine Beurteilung des Kernbetons erfolgt mit diesen beiden Prüfverfahren i. d. R. nicht.
Ein nicht ausreichender Frost-Tausalz-Widerstand des Kernbetons wird daher in der üblichen Prüfpraxis nicht erkannt. Ein Kernbeton mit geringem Frost-Tausalz-Widerstand kann im Nutzungszustand versagen und u. a. zum Auftreten von Abplatzungen des Vorsatzbetons führen, da dieser die mechanische Beanspruchung durch die Nutzung nicht mehr ausreichend aufnehmen kann.

Anwendungsmöglichkeit der Ergebnisse:

  • Ausschreibende Stellen für Bauvorhaben mit Betonpflastersteinen könnten zusätzlich zur Vorsatzbetonprüfung die Prüfung des Frost-Tausalz-Widerstandes des Kernbetons fordern.
  • Hersteller von Betonpflastersteinen sollten auch im Kernbeton eine robuste Betonzusam-mensetzung mit einem angemessenen Zementgehalt verwenden, damit dessen Frost-Tausalz-Widerstand ausreichend hoch bleibt.
  • Im Regelwerk DIN EN 1338 könnte zusätzlich die Prüfung des Frost-Tausalz-Widerstandes des Kernbetons verankert werden.

Förderer

Das IGF-Vorhaben 17996 N der Forschungsvereinigung 
VDZ gemeinnützige GmbH - VDZ gGmbH, Tannenstraße 2, 40476 Düsseldorf wurde über die AiF im Rahmen des Programms zur Förderung der Industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages gefördert.