Research on the ternary system of clinker, granulated blast furnace slag and limestone

with the aim of lowering the proportion of clinker in cement to reduce CO2 emissions in cement production

The research project builds on both the results of the concluded project 28790 "Reducing the environmental impact of concrete construction with new types of cement and concrete using sufficiently available source materials" and the future European standardisation of cements.

In research project 28790 it was determined that cements with up to 50 % by mass of limestone as a main constituent can be used to manufacture concretes with durability properties that are similar to standard concretes made using CEM I or CEM II/A-LL cements. To achieve this, it is necessary to significantly reduce the water-cement ratio to w/c = 0.35. In order to ensure practical workability, optimisation of the paste content, precise adjustment of the main cement constituents in the cement work and adjusted use of concrete admixtures are also required. 

It was shown that many durability properties are comparable to those in the selected reference cements, however there is clear potential for optimisation in terms of the normal product portfolio in Germany. The environmental impact can also be improved further. This becomes possible through the use of a limited supply of granulated blast furnace slag as a third main constituent. Accordingly, this research project aims to investigate a considerably more extensive field of composition within the ternary system of clinker (K) – granulated blast furnace slag (S) – limestone (LL), which, on the one hand, is based on the cements of the current or future European standards and, on the other hand, is limited by the results of the previous research project and the technical limits that it defined. The durability of concretes is to be investigated using the methods that proved to be effective in the previous research project. These are complemented with further testing procedures (rapid carbonation, testing of freeze-thaw resistance with de-icing salt). 

The aim of the investigations is to answer the question as to whether the K-S-LL system can be used to manufacture durable concretes using clinker-efficient cement under framework conditions that still need to be defined. The results of the research project will then be evaluated from the point of view of their environmental footprint.

Erforschung des Dreistoffgemisches Klinker, Hüttensand und Kalksteinmehl

mit dem Ziel der Absenkung des Klinkeranteils im Zement zur Verminderung der CO2-Emissionen in der Zementproduktion

Das Forschungsvorhaben baut sowohl auf den Ergebnissen des abgeschlossenen Vorhabens 28790 "Reduzierung der Umweltwirkung der Betonbauweise durch neuartige Zemente und daraus hergestellter Betone unter Verwendung hinreichend verfügbarer Ausgangsstoffe" als auch auf der zukünftigen europäischen Zementnormung auf.

Im Forschungsvorhaben 28790 wurde festgestellt, dass Zemente mit bis zu 50 M.-% Kalkstein als Hauptbestandteil verwendet werden können, um Betone mit Dauerhaftigkeitseigenschaften herzustellen, die üblichen Betonen mit CEM I oder CEM II/A-LL Zementen vergleichbar sind. Hierzu ist es erforderlich, den Wasserzementwert signifikant auf w/z = 0,35 abzusenken. Um eine praxisgerechte Verarbeitbarkeit gewährleisten zu können, ist zusätzlich eine Optimierung des Leimgehaltes, eine genaue Abstimmung der Zementhauptbestandteile im Zementwerk sowie ein abgestimmter Einsatz von Betonzusatzmitteln erforderlich. 

Es wurde jedoch auch gezeigt, dass viele Dauerhaftigkeitseigenschaften zwar vergleichbar mit denen der gewählten Referenzzemente sind, bezüglich des in Deutschland üblichen Produktportfolios besteht jedoch deutliches Optimierungspotential. Auch die Umweltwirkung kann weiter verbessert werden. Dies wird möglich durch den Einsatz begrenzt verfügbaren Hüttensandes als dritten Hauptbestandteil. In diesem Forschungsvorhaben soll entsprechend ein deutlich umfangreicheres Zusammensetzungsfeld im Dreistoffsystem Klinker (K) – Hüttensand (S) – Kalkstein (LL) untersucht werden, dass sich einerseits an die Zemente der derzeitigen bzw. zukünftigen europäischen Normungen anlehnt und andererseits durch die Ergebnisse des vorangegangen Forschungsvorhabens und der dort definierten technischen Grenzen begrenzt wird. Die Dauerhaftigkeit von Betonen soll mit den Methoden, die sich im vorangegangen Forschungsvorhaben bewährt haben, untersucht werden. Diese werden durch weitere Prüfverfahren (Schnellkarbonatisierung, Prüfung des Frost-Tausalz-Widerstandes) ergänzt. 

Ziel der Untersuchungen ist die Beantwortung der Frage, ob mit klinkereffizienten Zementen im System K-S-LL unter zu definierenden Randbedingungen dauerhafte Betone hergestellt werden können. Abschließend werden die Ergebnisse des Forschungsvorhabens ökobilanziell bewertet.