Suitability of various inorganic substances for use as a minor constituents in cements according to EN 197-1

Laborzement nach 45-minütiger Hydration

Cements containing supplementary cementitious materials contribute to the reduction of CO2 emissions due to their lower content of Portland cement clinker compared to ordinary Portland cements. These lower clinker contents usually result in lower early strengths. Due to their slower strength development the usability of these cements is limited for certain applications.

The (early) strength of cements can be increased by the addition of certain materials. Even though the usage of some of these materials as minor cement constituents might be possible and reasonable from a technical and economical point of view, it is currently excluded acc. EN 197-1. The main scope of this research project is to supply evidence that selected inorganic substances are suitable for the use as minor constituents.

Laboratory cements are tested to investigate changes in (early) strengths due to the usage of the inorganic substances as minor constituents in several cement types. The effects of the different materials on certain standard properties of the cements are analysed in order to disprove negative impacts. The inorganic materials are analysed with respect to their influence on the hydration of the cements and on the microstructure of the hardened cement pastes. Concrete tests are performed to investigate the effects of changes in cement properties on the durability of concrete.

The results are expected to enable cement producers to increase the early strengths of their cements by the selective use of the analysed materials while maintaining consistent cement quality. The use of the analysed materials in cements will initially be possible only via national approvals. In the long term, however, the results can be used as a foundation for the extension of the definition of minor cement constituents in EN 197-1.

Supported by

The IGF project 17638 N of VDZ gGmbH is supported by the AiF within the framework of Industrial Collective Research (IGF) of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy on the basis of a decision of the German Bundestag.


Dr. Jörg Rickert

Dr. Jörg Rickert

+49-211-45 78-283

+49-211-45 78-44427


01/2013 - 12/2014


Results (German)

Eignung verschiedener anorganischer Stoffe zur Verwendung als Nebenbestandteil in Zementen nach DIN EN 197-1

Laborzement nach 45-minütiger Hydration

Zemente mit mehreren Hauptbestandteilen tragen durch ihren gegenüber Portlandzement verringerten Anteil an Zementklinker zur Minderung von CO2-Emissionen bei. Mit geringen Klinkergehalten sind im Allgemeinen im Vergleich zu Portlandzement geringere Frühfestigkeiten verbunden. Für bestimmte Anwendungen stehen diese Zemente aufgrund ihrer langsameren Festigkeitsentwicklung nur in begrenztem Umfang zur Verfügung.

Die (Früh-)Festigkeit von Zementen kann durch die Zugabe verschiedener Stoffe gesteigert werden. Der Einsatz einiger dieser Stoffe als Nebenbestandteil im Zement könnte daher aus technischer und wirtschaftlicher Sicht möglich und sinnvoll sein, ist jedoch derzeit nach DIN EN 197-1 nicht möglich. In dem Forschungsvorhaben soll die Eignung ausgesuchter anorganischer Stoffe als Nebenbestandteil nachgewiesen werden.

An Laborzementen wird untersucht, ob der Einsatz der anorganischen Stoffe als Nebenbestandteil die (Früh-)Festigkeiten verschiedener Zementarten verbessert. Es werden die Auswirkungen der verschiedenen Materialien auf bestimmte Normeigenschaften der Zemente untersucht, um auszuschließen, dass hier eine Beeinträchtigung stattfindet. Es wird analysiert, wie die verwendeten anorganischen Stoffe die Hydratation der Zemente und das Gefüge des Zementsteins beeinflussen. An Betonen wird überprüft, ob eventuelle Veränderungen der Zementeigenschaften die Dauerhaftigkeit von Betonen beeinträchtigen.

Die Zementhersteller sollen durch die Ergebnisse in die Lage versetzt werden, durch die gezielte Verwendung der untersuchten Stoffe bei gleichbleibend guten Eigenschaften die Frühfestigkeit ihrer Zemente zu steigern. Der Einsatz der untersuchten Stoffe in Zementen wird dabei zunächst nur im Rahmen allgemeiner bauaufsichtlicher Zulassungen möglich sein. Langfristig sollen die Ergebnisse jedoch als Grundlage für eine Erweiterung der Definition von Nebenbestandteilen in der DIN EN 197-1 dienen.

Förderer

Das IGF-Vorhaben 17638 N der Forschungsvereinigung 
VDZ gGmbH wird über die AiF im Rahmen des Programms zur Förderung der Industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages gefördert.

Kontakt

Dr. Jörg Rickert

Dr. Jörg Rickert

Tel.: (0211) 45 78-283

Fax: (0211) 45 78-44427

Projektzeitraum

01/2013 - 12/2015

Veröffentlichungen

Forschungsergebnisse