Improving the selection and service life of metallic materials in the high-temperature range of rotary cement kilns, taking into account the relevant gas atmosphere

Very high firing temperatures, with gas temperatures of up to 2000°C in the sintering zone of the rotary kiln, are required to produce the hydraulic cement clinker phases. To reliably protect the steel supporting structure, the inside walls of the installations have to be lined with refractory material. Particularly in the vertical preheater areas, the brickwork has to be fixed to the outer supporting structure with metal anchoring systems. In these areas the gas atmosphere reaches temperatures of up to 1200°C. As the hot gas atmosphere contains large proportions of corrosive substances such as sulphur dioxide (SO2), hydrogen chloride (HCl) and both chloride-based and sulphate-based alkali salts, the metal components used in these areas are particularly exposed to high-temperature corrosion. These corrosive alkali salts and gases attack the individual alloying elements selectively and thus cause significant damage to the steel anchors. The corrosion phenomena are not limited to the preheater area. Due to the porous structure of the refractory lining including the joints and the associated lack of diffusion tightness, the kiln shell is also exposed to the corrosive substances and increased kiln shell corrosion may therefore occur.

The aim of this research project was to investigate the issue of high-temperature corrosion in the hot area of the preheater and the rotary kiln. To this end, various alloys of heat-resistant steels used for the production of anchors were inserted in the preheater, subjected to the thermal loads in the factory for a period of at least one year and then evaluated. In parallel with the full-scale operational trials, the alloys were placed in laboratory kilns and exposed to a gas atmosphere corresponding to the gas atmosphere of a rotary kiln plant in order to research the corrosion mechanisms in detail.

Studies were also performed with respect to protection of the kiln shell against corrosion. The sintering zone of the rotary kiln was fitted with a so-called sacrificial layer which extended over the full circumference of the kiln and was around 1 m wide. The purpose of the sacrificial layer was to act as both a diffusion barrier and as sacrificial material in order to protect the kiln shell against corrosion.

Laboratory and operating trials were compared to investigate the extent to which it is possible to make a statement about damage behaviour using a short-term trial in a laboratory. In addition, the materials that display the highest corrosion resistance under the aforementioned conditions were identified.

Supported by

The IGF project 17365 N of VDZ gGmbH is supported by the AiF within the framework of Industrial Collective Research (IGF) of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy on the basis of a decision of the German Bundestag.


Dr. Volker Hoenig

Dr. Volker Hoenig

+49-211-45 78-254

+49-211-45 78-400


02/2012 - 07/2015


Results (German)

Verbesserung von Auswahl und Lebensdauer metallischer Werkstoffe im Hochtemperaturbereich von Zementdrehöfen unter Berücksichtigung der einwirkenden Gasatmosphäre

Zur Herstellung der hydraulischen Zementklinkerphasen werden sehr hohe Brenntemperaturen benötigt, die Gastemperaturen von bis zu 2000 °C in der Sinterzone des Drehrohrofens erfordern. Um den Schutz der Stützkonstruktion aus Stahl zu gewährleisten, müssen die Innenwände der Anlagenteile mit Feuerfestmaterial ausgekleidet werden. Vor allem in den senkrecht angeordneten Vorwärmerbereichen müssen die Ausmauerungen mit metallischen Befestigungssystemen an der äußeren Stützkonstruktion fixiert werden. In diesen Bereichen erreicht die Gasatmosphäre Temperaturen von bis zu 1200 °C. Dadurch, dass die heiße Gasatmosphäre große Anteile an korrosiven Substanzen wie Schwefeldioxid (SO2), Chlorwasserstoff (HCI) und sowohl chloridische als auch sulfatische Alkalisalze enthält, sind die in diesen Bereichen eingesetzten Metallkomponenten besonders der Hochtemperaturkorrosion ausgesetzt. Diese korrosiven Alkalisalze und Gase greifen die einzelnen Legierungskomponenten selektiv an und schädigen somit die Stahlanker. Die Korrosionserscheinungen sind nicht auf den Vorwärmerbereich beschränkt. Durch die poröse Struktur der Feuerfestausmauerung einschließlich der Fugen und der damit verbundenen mangelnden Diffusionsdichtigkeit wird auch der Ofenmantel den korrosiven Stoffen ausgesetzt, was zu einer erhöhten Ofenmantelkorrosion führen kann.

Mit diesem Forschungsprojekt wurde die Problematik der Hochtemperaturkorrosion im Heißbereich des Vorwärmers und des Drehrohrofens untersucht. Dazu wurden im Vorwärmer verschiedene Legierungen hitzebeständiger Stähle, die zur Herstellung von Ankern genutzt werden, eingebaut und über einen Zeitraum von mindestens einem Jahr den thermischen Belastungen im Werk ausgesetzt und nachher analysiert. Parallel zu den Betriebsversuchen wurden die Legierungen in Laboröfen einer Gasatmosphäre, die derjenigen in einer Drehofenanlage entspricht, ausgesetzt, um die Korrosionsmechanismen im Detail zu erforschen.

Weiterhin wurden Untersuchungen zum Schutz des Ofenmantels vor Korrosion durchgeführt. Hierzu wurde in der Sinterzone des Drehrohrofens eine sogenannte Opferschicht eingebaut, die sich über den vollen Ofenumfang erstreckte und etwa 1 m breit war. Die Opferschicht diente als Diffusionsbarriere und gleichzeitig als Opfermaterial, um den Ofenmantel vor Korrosion zu schützen.

Durch den Vergleich von Labor- und Betriebsversuchen wurde untersucht, inwiefern eine Aussage über das Schädigungsverhalten durch einen Kurzzeitversuch im Labor möglich ist. Zudem wurden diejenigen Werkstoffe ermittelt, die unter den o.g. Bedingungen die höchste Korrosionsbeständigkeit zeigen.

Förderer

Das IGF-Vorhaben 17365 N der Forschungsvereinigung VDZ gGmbH wurde über die AiF im Rahmen des Programms zur Förderung der Industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages gefördert.

Kontakt

Dr. Volker Hoenig

Dr. Volker Hoenig

Tel.: (0211) 45 78-254

Fax: (0211) 45 78-400

Projektzeitraum

02/2012–07/2015

Veröffentlichungen

Forschungsergebnisse