Influence of concrete technology parameters on the moisture storage and moisture transfer in concretes and cement screeds and on the resulting moisture content under different ambient conditions

The design of concrete components and the application of cement screeds is currently giving rise to two questions that made it necessary to investigate the moisture storage and moisture transfer in cement-bound building materials in more detail.

1. Drying behaviour of cement screeds

Moisture content of screedsMoisture content of screeds

It has been reported that the drying behaviour of screeds with CEM II cements (Portland-composite cements) and CEM III cements (blast furnace cements) differs from screeds with Portland cements and that drying to a state ready for the application of floor coverings often takes longer than in screeds with Portland cement. Screed installerstherefore often tend to avoid using CEM II and CEM III cements, and instead opt for Portland cements. The present research project intended to systematically examine the effects of the cement type on the drying behaviour of cement-bound screeds. The particular aim was to establish whether the use of CEM II and CEM III cements really affects the drying behaviour of cement screeds.

The investigations into the drying behaviour of cement screeds and hardened cement paste revealed the following:

  • Screed mortars with blast furnace cements presented higher moisture contents (CM moisture and retained moisture determined by means of oven drying at 105°C) than screeds with other types of cement after being stored for up to six months in a climate of 20°C/65% RH (Figure 1).
  • Hardened cement pastes with blast furnace and Portland-slag cements displayed considerably lower mass losses when stored in climates of 20°C/65% RH and 40°C/30% RH, and mass constancy even after a few weeks in a climate of 20°C/65% RH, i.e. no further material moisture was released into the environment.

The equilibrium moisture content of screeds with blast furnace cement is higher than in screeds with Portland cement in the case of common relative humidities. Therefore, e.g. when using blast furnace cement, it is impossible to fall below a maximum value for the moisture content defined on the basis ofthe drying behaviour of screeds with Portland cement. At the same time, the mass and speed of the expected further moisture loss, which are ultimately key to the possible occurrence of damage in floor constructions, are generally lower when using blast furnace cements than when using screeds, e.g. with Portland cement. Consequently, reservations about blast furnace cements and some Portland-composite cements because of their drying behaviour seem to be unfounded.

A follow-up project aims to investigate whether measurement and analysis of relative humidity in cement screeds leads to an assessment of readiness for the application of floor coverings that takes better account of the characteristics of various types of cement in terms of their pore structure and sorption isotherms than the current method of determining moisture content in cement screed, which is expressed in CM or % by mass.

2. Concrete spalling due to fire exposure

When concrete components are subjected to high temperatures in the event of fire, this can result in the spalling of pieces of concrete. Explosive spallingis considered to be the most serious form,; this is when pieces of concrete break off violentlywith loud, explosion-like noises. This issue has recently gainedprominence, partly because of increased use of high-strength concretes, and partly because of regulations in [EN 1992-1-2] regarding structural fire design. The standard states that explosive spalling isunlikely to occur "when the moisture content of the concrete is less than k % by weight," whereby k must be defined on national level. A value of 3.0 wt% is recommended in the standard; k has been defined as 4.0 wt% for Germany.

Systematic studies on the influence of various concrete compositions and ambient conditions on moisture content and moisture distribution in concrete components had not been carried out until now. Predicting the moisture content in concrete components, which is highly dependent on the chosen concrete formula and the ambient conditions, was therefore generally only possible to a very limited extent. It was considerednecessary for the present research project to investigate what moisture contents and distributions typically exist in concretes of different compositions under common ambientconditions. At the same time, the aim was to examine what influence concrete composition and moisture content could have on the occurrence of spalling when the concrete is heated.

The present research project simulated typical environmental conditions with the aid of a computer and calculated the resulting moisture content in the concrete using appropriate software. As input variables for the simulations, the material parameters of

  • moisture storage function/sorption isotherms,
  • water vapour transmission properties and
  • water absorption coefficient

were determined experimentally for concretes of different compositions.

Fluctuations in temperature and relative humidityFluctuations in temperature and relative humidity

The calculation of the coupled heat and moisture transfer showed that after several years a largely constant relative humidity in reached inside concrete components, which corresponds to the average relative humidity present in the surrounding area. Only the moisture in the outer approx. 2.5 to 5 centimetres of a concrete component is significantly influenced by fluctuations in the climate throughout the year (Figure 2). The denser the concrete, the smaller the boundary zone affected by climatic fluctuations.

The relative humidity that sets in on the inside of the component corresponds to

  • around 50% for interior components under typical room conditions
  • around 75% to 80% for uninsulated components under typical outdoor conditions (Germany) – or higher if the components are exposed to rain.

With the help of sorption isotherms in the concrete determined as part of the project, it was possible to appropriate the relative moisture contents of the corresponding moisture content in % by weight across the component density. This makes it possible to verify whether k wt% is exceeded under the present climatic conditions and whether explosive spalling is therefore likely, as per [EN 1992-1-2]. After constant relative humidities set in in the core, the concretes that formed part of the experimental programme displayed average calculated equilibrium moisture contents in a magnitude of 3.5 to 6.0% in the outdoor climate. In the room climate, several concretes reached average compensatory moistures of 2.0 to 4.5% after constant relative humidities set in in the core. The general trend is that concretes with a low proportion of capillary pores have higher equilibrium moisture contents under room conditions.

Concrete test specimens after spallingConcrete test specimens after spalling

A test set-up – initially described by Kalifa [Kal 2000] and since used by many scientists – was chosen in order to investigate the behaviour of the concretes during heating and possible explosive spalling. According to this method, the surface of a concrete specimenmeasuring 30 cm x 30 cm x 12 cm is heated with electrical radiant heaters. Some sources refer to the test as the "PTM test" because the change inpore pressure, temperature and mass are determined. The tests relating to the explosive spalling of concrete in a fire led to the following results:

  • In the present research project, high pore pressures were not the main cause of explosive spalling in concrete.
  • Whilst other scientists have documented the pore pressure, temperature and mass of concrete test specimens during heating in the "PTM test" and not identified any spalling, in the present research project explosive spalling was observed in several cases by means of a modification to the test (application of compressive stress) (Figure 3). Consequently, the application of compressive stresses is key to the occurrence of spalling in the PTM test.
  • Explosive spalling occurred in both high-strength concretes and normal-strength concretes with blast furnace cement (CEM III/A) and Portland-fly ash cement (CEM II/B-V). Compared with other concretes in the experimental programme, the hardened cement paste of these concretes displays a lower proportion of capillary pores and a larger proportion of gel pores.

Based on independent observations and findings from the literature, hypotheses were put forward regarding the cause of the explosive spalling in the research project. These hypotheses and the relative contribution of the assumed phenomena of spalling are to be investigated as part of a subsequent research project.

[DIN EN 1992-1-2] 
Deutsches Institut für Normung, DIN 2010-12. Eurocode 2: Bemessung und Konstruktion von Stahlbeton- und Spannbetontragwerken - Teil 1-2: Allgemeine Regeln - Tragwerksbemessung für den Brandfall

[Kal 2000]
Kalifa, P. et al.. Spalling and pore pressure in HPC at high temperatures. Cement and Concrete Research 2000, 30, S. 1915-1927

Förderer

The IGF project 17928 N of VDZ gemeinnuetzige GmbH – VDZ gGmbH, Tannenstrasse 2, 40476 Duesseldorf is supported by the AiF within the framework of Industrial Collective Research (IGF) of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy on the basis of a decision of the German Bundestag.

Contact

Dr. Christoph Müller

Dr. Christoph Müller

Phone:
+49-211-45 78-351

Fax:
+49-211-45 78-296

Duration

01/2014 - 12/2016

Einfluss betontechnologischer Parameter auf die Feuchtespeicherung und den Feuchtetransport in Betonen und Zementestrichen sowie auf den hieraus resultierenden Feuchtegehalt unter verschiedenen Umweltbedingungen

Bei der Planung von Bauteilen aus Beton und der Anwendung von Zementestrichen kommt es aktuell zu zwei Fragestellungen, die es erforderlich machten, die Feuchtespeicherung und den Feuchtetransport in zementgebundenen Baustoffen genauer zu untersuchen.

1. Trocknungsverhalten von Zementestrich

Feuchtegehalte für EstricheFeuchtegehalte für Estriche

Verschiedentlich wurde berichtet, dass sich das Trocknungsverhalten von Estrichen mit CEM II-Zementen (Portlandkompositzementen) und CEM III-Zementen (Hochofenzementen) von Estrichen mit Portlandzementen unterscheide und die Trocknung bis zur Belegreife in manchen Fällen länger als bei Estrichen mit Portlandzement dauere. Estrichleger neigen daher aktuell z. T. dazu, auf die Anwendung von CEM II- und CEM III-Zementen zu verzichten und stattdessen auf Portlandzemente zurückzugreifen. Im vorliegenden Forschungsprojekt sollte der Einfluss der Zementart auf das Trocknungsverhalten von zementgebundenen Estrichen systematisch untersucht werden. Es sollte insbesondere verifiziert werden, ob die Verwendung von CEM II- und CEM III- Zementen tatsächlich das Trocknungsverhalten von Zementestrichen beeinflusst.

Die Untersuchungen zum Trocknungsverhalten von Zementestrichen und Zementstein zeigten Folgendes:

  • Estrichmörtel mit Hochofenzementen wiesen nach einer Lagerung von bis zu einem halben Jahr im Klima 20°C/65% r. F. höhere Feuchtegehalte (CM-Feuchte und mittels Ofentrocknung bei 105°C bestimmter Massenanteil der enthaltenen Feuchte) auf als Estriche mit anderen Zementarten (Bild 1).
  • Zementsteine mit Hochofen- und Portlandhüttenzementen zeigten bei Lagerung in den Klimata 20°C/65 % r. F. und 40°C/30% r. F. deutlich geringere Massenverluste und beim Klima 20°C/65 % r. F. bereits nach wenigen Wochen Massenkonstanz, d. h. es wurde keine weitere Baustofffeuchte in die Umgebung abgegeben.

Der Ausgleichsfeuchtegehalt von Estrichen mit Hochofenzement ist bei üblich vorherrschenden relativen Luftfeuchten höher als der von Estrichen mit Portlandzement. Daher kann ein Maximalwert für den Feuchtegehalt, der anhand des Trocknungsverhaltens von Estrichen mit Portlandzement definiert wurde, z. B. bei Verwendung eines Hochofenzements möglicherweise nicht unterschritten werden. Gleichzeitig sind die Masse und Geschwindigkeit des zu erwartenden weiteren Feuchteverlusts, die letztlich entscheidend für das mögliche Auftreten von Schäden an Fußbodenkonstruktionen sind, i. d. R. bei der Verwendung von Hochofenzementen geringer als bei Estrichen z. B. mit Portlandzement. Die aufgrund des Trocknungsverhaltens bestehenden Vorbehalte bei Hochofenzementen und einigen Portlandkompositzementen erscheinen damit unbegründet.

In einem Nachfolgeprojekt soll überprüft werden, ob eine Messung und Bewertung der relativen Luftfeuchte in Zementestrichen zu einer Beurteilung der Belegreife führt, die den Charakteristika verschiedener Zementarten hinsichtlich Ihres Porengefüges und ihrer Sorptionsisothermen besser Rechnung trägt als die derzeit ermittelten Feuchtegehalte im Zementestrich, ausgedrückt in CM- oder Massen-%,

2. Abplatzungen bei Bauteilen unter Brandbeanspruchung

Wenn Betonbauteile im Brandfall hohen Temperaturen ausgesetzt sind, kann es zum Abplatzen von Betonstücken kommen. Besondere Bedeutung haben hierbei die sogenannten explosiven Abplatzungen, bei denen sich Betonstücke schlagartig von den betroffenen Bauteilen lösen und mit lauten, explosionsartigen Geräuschen fortgeschleudert werden. Dieses Thema rückt zum einen durch die vermehrte Verwendung von hochfesten Betonen, zum anderen aber auch durch Regeln in der [DIN EN 1992-1-2] zur Tragwerksbemessung im Brandfall in den Fokus. In der Norm ist angegeben, dass explosive Betonabplatzungen unwahrscheinlich sind, „wenn der Feuchtigkeitsgehalt des Betons weniger als k Gew.-% beträgt“, wobei k auf nationaler Ebene festzulegen ist. Ein Wert von 3,0 Gew.-% wird in der Norm empfohlen; im deutschen nationalen Angang wurde k = 4,0 Gew.-% festgelegt.

Systematische Untersuchungen zum Einfluss verschiedener Betonzusammensetzungen und Umgebungsbedingungen auf den Feuchtegehalt und die Feuchteverteilung in Betonbauteilen lagen bislang nicht vor. Die Vorhersage des in hohem Maße von der gewählten Betonrezeptur und den Umgebungsbedingungen abhängigen Feuchtigkeitsgehalts in Betonbauteilen war daher in der Regel nur sehr eingeschränkt möglich. Es erschien erforderlich, im vorliegenden Forschungsvorhaben zu untersuchen, welche Feuchtegehalte und -verteilungen bei Betonen verschiedener Zusammensetzungen bei üblichen Umweltbedingungen typischerweise vorliegen. Gleichzeitig sollte überprüft werden, welchen Einfluss die Betonzusammensetzung und der Feuchtegehalt des Betons auf das Auftreten von Abplatzen beim Erhitzen von Beton haben können.

Im vorliegenden Forschungsprojekt wurden typische Umgebungsbedingungen rechnergestützt simuliert und der hieraus resultierende Feuchtegehalt im Beton mit einer geeigneten Software berechnet. Als Eingangsgröße für die Simulationen wurden die Materialparameter

  • Feuchtespeicherfunktion/Sorptionsisotherme,
  • Wasserdampfdurchlässigkeit sowie
  • Wasseraufnahmekoeffizient

für Betone verschiedener Zusammensetzungen experimentell bestimmt.

Schwankungen von Temperatur und relativer LuftfeuchteSchwankungen von Temperatur und relativer Luftfeuchte

Als Ergebnis der Berechnung des gekoppelten Wärme- und Feuchtetransports zeigte sich, dass sich im Inneren von Betonbauteilen nach mehreren Jahren eine weitestgehend konstante relative Luftfeuchte einstellt, die der mittleren vorherrschenden relativen Luftfeuchte der Umgebung entspricht. Nur die Feuchte der äußeren ca. 2,5 bis 5 Zentimeter eines Betonbauteils wird maßgeblich von Schwankungen des Klimas im Jahresverlauf beeinflusst (Bild 2). Je dichter der Beton ist, desto geringer ist die Randzone, die durch Klimaschwankungen beeinflusst wird.

Die relative Luftfeuchte, die sich im Bauteilinneren einstellt, entspricht

  • für Innenbauteile bei typischen Raumklimabedingungen rd. 50 %
  • für ungedämmte Bauteile bei typischen Außenklimabedingungen (D) rd. 75 % bis 80 % , falls die Bauteile Regen ausgesetzt sind, auch höher.

Mit Hilfe der im Projekt bestimmten Sorptionsisothermen der Betone konnte den relativen Feuchtegehalten der entsprechende Feuchtegehalt in Gew.-% über die Bauteildicke zugeordnet werden. Dies ermöglicht die Überprüfung, ob k Gew.-% bei den vorliegenden Klimabedingungen überschritten wird und somit nach [DIN EN 1992-1-2] explosive Abplatzungen wahrscheinlich sind. Die Betone des Versuchsprogramms zeigten im Außenklima nach Einstellung konstanter relativer Feuchten im Kern durchschnittliche berechnete Ausgleichsfeuchten in der Größenordnung von 3,5 bis 6,0 %. Im Raumklima erreichten einige Betone nach Einstellung konstanter rel. Luftfeuchten im Kern durchschnittliche Ausgleichsfeuchten von 2,0 bis 4,5 %. Tendenziell gilt: Betone mit einem geringen Kapillarporenanteil haben bei Raumklimabedingungen höhere Ausgleichsfeuchten.

Oberfläche eines Betonprobekörpers im Versuchsprogramm nach dem AbplatzenBetonprobekörper nach dem Abplatzen

Zur Untersuchung des Verhaltens der Betone beim Erhitzen und eines möglichen explosiven Abplatzens wurde ein Versuchsaufbau gewählt, der zum ersten Mal von Kalifa [Kal 2000] beschrieben und seitdem von vielen Wissenschaftlern verwendet wurde. Hierbei wird die Oberfläche eines Betonkörpers mit den Abmessungen 30 cm x 30 cm x 12 cm mit elektrischen Heizstrahlern erhitzt. Der Versuch wird in einigen Quellen als „PTM-Versuch“ bezeichnet, da die Änderung von Porendruck, Temperatur und Masse bestimmt wird. Die Versuche zum explosiven Abplatzen von Beton im Brandfall führten zu folgenden Ergebnissen:

  • Hohe Porendrücke waren im vorliegenden Forschungsprojekt nicht die Hauptursache für das Auftreten von explosivem Abplatzen von Beton.
  • Während andere Wissenschaftler mit dem durchgeführten „PTM-Versuch“ den Porendruck, die Temperatur und die Masse von Probekörpern aus Beton beim Erhitzen dokumentierten, aber kein Abplatzen feststellten, wurde im vorliegenden Forschungsvorhaben über eine Modifikation des Versuchs (Aufbringen einer Druckbelastung) in mehreren Fällen explosives Abplatzen beobachtet (Bild 3). Das Aufbringen von Drucklasten ist folglich entscheidend für das Auftreten von Abplatzen im PTM-Versuch.
  • Explosives Abplatzen trat auf bei hochfesten Betonen sowie bei normalfesten Betonen mit Hochofenzement (CEM III/A) und Portlandflugaschezement (CEM II/B-V). Im Vergleich zu anderen Betonen im Versuchsprogramm weist der Zementstein dieser Betone einen geringeren Kapillarporenanteil und einen größeren Gelporenanteil auf.

Auf Grundlage der eigenen Beobachtungen und Erkenntnissen aus der Literatur wurden Hypothesen zur Ursache des explosiven Abplatzens im Forschungsprojekt aufgestellt. Diese Hypothesen und der relative Beitrag der vermuteten Phänomene zum Abplatzen sollen in einem nachfolgenden Forschungsvorhaben untersucht werden.

[DIN EN 1992-1-2] 
Deutsches Institut für Normung, DIN 2010-12. Eurocode 2: Bemessung und Konstruktion von Stahlbeton- und Spannbetontragwerken - Teil 1-2: Allgemeine Regeln - Tragwerksbemessung für den Brandfall

[Kal 2000]
Kalifa, P. et al.. Spalling and pore pressure in HPC at high temperatures. Cement and Concrete Research 2000, 30, S. 1915-1927

Förderer

Das IGF-Vorhaben 17928 N der Forschungsvereinigung VDZ gemeinnützige GmbH – VDZ gGmbH, Tannenstraße 2, 40476 Düsseldorf wird über die AiF im Rahmen des Programms zur Förderung der industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages gefördert.

Kontakt

Dr. Christoph Müller

Dr. Christoph Müller

Tel.: (0211) 45 78-351

Fax: (0211) 45 78-219

Projektzeitraum

01/2014 - 12/2016