Interactions between superplasticizers and cements with calcined clay in dependence of the temperature

Compared to Portland cement, the water demand of cements with calcined clay may be higher. Thus, concrete produced using these cements with calcined clay may be stiffer and may require a superplasticizer. However, knowledge on influences of these cements on the workability of concrete and their interactions with superplasticizers is available to a relatively small extent only.

The aim of the research project is to determine interactions between superplasticizers and cements with calcined clay. It is determined how the proportion of calcined clay in the cement as well as the dosage of superplasticizer influences the rheological properties of fresh cement paste and concrete. In the foreground are influences of the calcining conditions of the clays on the workability of cements with calcined clay and on the effect of different superplasticizers as well as influences of the test temperatures (“summer”, “winter”).

The results of the project will give important information to cement producers to enhance the workability of cements with calcined clay. Concrete technologists will receive important information to choose the right superplasticizer for the particular concrete composition and the actual time of the year. Both factors contribute to prevent undesired reactions in concrete.

Contact

Dr. Jörg Rickert

Dr Jörg Rickert

Phone:
+49-211-45 78-283

Fax:
+49-211-45 78-44427

Duration

01/2013 - 12/2015

Supported by

Dres. Edith und Klaus Dyckerhoff-Stiftung

Wechselwirkungen zwischen Fließmitteln und Zementen mit getempertem Ton in Abhängigkeit der Temperatur

Zemente mit getempertem Ton können einen höheren Wasseranspruch aufweisen als z. B. Portlandzement. Somit können mit diesen Zementen hergestellte Betone steifer sein und ggf. den Zusatz von Fließmittel erfordern. Einflüsse von Zementen mit getempertem Ton auf die Verarbeitbarkeit von Beton und deren Wechselwirkungen mit Fließmitteln waren bislang noch nicht hinreichend bekannt.

Ziel ist es, Wechselwirkungen zwischen Fließmitteln und Zementen mit getempertem Ton zu bestimmen. Es wird ermittelt, mit bis zu welchem Anteil an getempertem Ton im Zement sowie mit bis zu welcher Zugabemenge an Fließmittel eine gezielte Steuerung rheologischer Eigenschaften von Zementleim bzw. Beton erreicht werden kann. Im Vordergrund stehen Einflüsse der Brennbedingungen der Tone auf die Verarbeitbarkeit von mit den getemperten Tonen hergestellten Zementen und auf die Wirkung von Fließmitteln unterschiedlicher Wirkstoffart bzw. -struktur sowie Einflüsse verschiedenen Prüftemperaturen („Sommer“, „Winter“).

Die Ergebnisse werden den Zementherstellern wichtige Hinweise zur Steigerung der Verarbeitbarkeit von Zementen mit getempertem Ton geben. Betontechnologen werden wichtige Hinweise zur Auswahl des für die jeweilige Betonzusammensetzung und die Jahreszeit erforderlichen Fließmittels erhalten. Beides trägt dazu bei, unerwünschten Reaktionen im Beton vorzubeugen.

Kontakt

Dr. Jörg Rickert

Dr. Jörg Rickert

Tel.: (0211) 45 78-283

Fax: (0211) 45 78-44427

Projektzeitraum

01/2013 - 12/2015

Förderer

Dres. Edith und Klaus Dyckerhoff-Stiftung