Damage mechanisms of concrete exposed to freeze-thaw attack: Impact of cement main constituents on the internal damage

This research project aimed to determine the impact of the cement type on the internal damage of concrete exposed to freeze-thaw attack. To identify the inner damage of concrete due to freeze-thaw attack, several test methods are available. In Germany, the CIF-test is widely used, in particular, in the area of water engineering or in the case of technical approvals. However, the impact of the cement type on the internal damage is almost unknown. Previous investigations showed: Concretes containing silica fume in some cases revealed considerably earlier and greater loss of the relative dynamic modulus of elasticity in contrast to concretes containing ordinary Portland cement in the CIF test, although the total porosities were comparable. In those days, this effect was attributed to the amount of freezable water in siliceous gels.

In this research project the additional amount of freezable water in concretes consisting of cement with several main constituents and the influence on the critical saturation of the concrete should be examined. Hardened cement pastes were used to determine water vapour sorption isotherms and the type of water binding in the cement matrix (e. g. absorption, adsorption, capillary condensation and chemical bond) was characterized. The internal damage due to freeze-thaw attack was investigated in the CIF-Test.

Supported by

The IGF project 18439 N of VDZ gemeinnuetzige GmbH - VDZ gGmbH, Tannenstrasse 2, 40476 Duesseldorf was supported by the AiF within the framework of Industrial Collective Research (IGF) of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy on the basis of a decision of the German Bundestag.

Contact

Dr. Christoph Müller

Dr Christoph Müller

Phone:
+49-211-45 78-351

Fax:
+49-211-45 78-296

Publications

Results (German)

Duration

01/2015 - 06/2017

Schädigungsmechanismen von Beton unter Frosteinwirkung: Einfluss von Zementhauptbestandteilen auf die innere Gefügeschädigung

Im Forschungsvorhaben wurde der Einfluss der Zementart auf die innere Schädigung von Beton bei Frostbeanspruchung untersucht. Um die innere Schädigung zu ermitteln, können verschiedene Verfahren angewendet werden. Die CIF-Prüfung kommt insbesondere im Bereich des Wasserbaus, aber auch in Zulassungsverfahren zur Anwendung. Der Einfluss der Zementart auf die innere Schädigung ist dabei noch weitgehend unbekannt. In einem abgeschlossenen Forschungsvorhaben wurden bei silicastaubhaltigen Betonen im Vergleich zu Betonen nur mit Portlandzement, trotz vergleichbarer Gesamtporosität, teilweise deutlich früher und stärker einsetzende Abnahmen des relativen dynamischen E-Moduls im CIF-Verfahren ermittelt. Dieser Effekt wurde seinerzeit auf den Anteil an gefrierbarem Wasser in silicatischen Gelen zurückgeführt.

In dem laufenden Forschungsvorhaben sollte untersucht werden, ob bei verschiedenen Zementen mit mehreren Hauptbestandteilen zusätzliches gefrierbares Wasser im Beton vorhanden ist und inwiefern dieses die kritische Sättigung des Betons beeinflusst. An Zementsteinproben wurden Wasserdampfsorptionsisothermen ermittelt, um die Art der Wasserbindung im Zementstein (z. B. Absorption, Adsorption, Kapillarkondensation und chemische Bindung) zu charakterisieren. Um die innere Schädigung durch Frostbeanspruchung zu erforschen, wurde das CIF-Verfahren angewendet.

Förderer

Das IGF-Vorhaben 18439 N der Forschungsvereinigung
VDZ gemeinnützige GmbH - VDZ gGmbH, Tannenstraße 2, 40476 Düsseldorf wurde über die AiF im Rahmen des Programms zur Förderung der Industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages gefördert.

Kontakt

Dr. Christoph Müller

Dr. Christoph Müller

Tel.: (0211) 45 78-351

Fax: (0211) 45 78-219

Projektzeitraum

01/2015 - 06/2017

Veröffentlichungen

Forschungsergebnisse